Not sure what to include in your children’s book illustration portfolio? Here’s the checklist I’ve been compiling for the past few years.

I’ve been a member of SCBWI since 2002 and have served as an Illustrator Coordinator for the Rocky Mountain Chapter since 2009. I also teach children’s book illustration at the Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design. I’ve seen my share of terrific (and not-so-terrific) portfolios and keep an eye on what gets agent and publisher attention. I’m always striving to improve my craft and this checklist keeps me on track.

Consider these as suggestions rather than hard set rules, but if you have most of this list, you’re going to be in great shape for your next portfolio showing. Good luck and happy creating!

portfolio-checklist

Updated August 2017

 

How to Build Your Portfolio