I’m a little obsessed with the Starbucks toasted butterscotch latte. Or is it smoked? I can’t keep up. I ordered it as a burnt caramel latte the other day at the window, and they looked at me like I had six heads and gave me a latte laced with pumps of caramel sauce. Ew. This morning I really wanted one but didn’t want to put on pants, leave the house, and spend 6 bucks on coffee. Here’s what I did instead.

Ingredients:

  • 1TBS dark brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup half and half
  • Salt to taste (3 dashes of sea salt for me)
  • A cup of coffee

Stir the brown sugar, half and half, and salt into small pan and bring to medium heat. Continue to stir until the mixture gets bubbly and begins to steam. (You can take this a step further and allow the mixture to come to a boil for a moment, giving you more of that rich burnt flavor.) Pour over your hot coffee and enjoy the tasty cheap freedom of having just made your own latte. Take that establishment!

Photos or it didn’t happen. (Yes, I used a fork in a non-stick pan. I’m the mom now. I do what I want.)

Enjoy! -Karen