After returning from the LA SCBWI conference (which was amazing!) I got a nasty flu. And I got depressed. This dark cloud settled over me, and I just couldn’t shake it. It was not a pretty place to be, and I started questioning everything. What I wanted in life and what kind of art I wanted to make, too. I tried to remember what I loved about art as a kid. The memory that came to me was drawing on paper grocery bags. It felt good… the drag of crayon over the rough, brown paper. The slick wax feel of the final artwork, the cruck cruck cruck of safety scissors as I let my creations out of the bag. So I picked my blubbering, unwashed self off the floor, went the to grocery store, bought a cheesecake, and brought it home in a paper bag. After some nourishing vitamin cheesecake, I went to work on the bag. And this is what happened…
kite-karenwindness