Something new today! I’ve done a lot of tie dye, but never this Sharpie technique.

sharpie-tiedye-karenwindness

What you’ll need:

items-needed-karenwindness

Place the bowl inside the shirt and roll the rubber band over top to secure your drawing space. I free-handed some flowers in black and magenta, but you could try any sort of pattern or drawing that would bleed well. (A severed arm comes to mind.)

sharpie-tie-die-draw-karenwindness

With the rubber band still in place, dip a brush in rubbing alcohol and apply to drawing. I learned that you don’t need much! It will continue to bleed for a couple minutes. Also, black seemed to stay put pretty well while the other colors bled out.

karenwindness-bleed

Remove the rubber band and move your bowl to another spot and continue drawing. You can do this as much or as little as you like!

I haven’t washed this yet, but I’m assuming you’d want to rinse it out or wash it alone, at least for the initial run. (I’ll update when I figure out what works best.)

Have fun with it!

By the way, I got this idea from Alisa Burke. If you haven’t checked out her blog, I highly recommend it. A wealth of ideas! And her Sharpie tie dye shirt is… to dye for! 🙂 Here’s her link: http://alisaburke.blogspot.com/2013/06/fashion-friday-sharpie-dye.html