Recently, I was hired by a cake maker to design a logo for her business. She wanted something involving a cupcake and a skull. I was really excited about the job, but after several rounds of sketches and several rounds of rejections, I realized I might not be the right artist for her logo. I let the job go and posted some of the rejected sketches on facebook. To my surprise, I had a very positive response!

cupcake-skull-sketch-karenwindness

I was urged to finish the artwork, and here’s what I came up with:teal-cupcake-skull

pink-cupcake-skull-karenwindnessI’ve sold the first (pink) cupcake, and just finished painting the teal one. It’s currently listed on etsy: http://www.etsy.com/listing/150330489/dia-de-los-cupcake-original-painting-in?ref=shop_home_active

I just bought 12 more 8″x10″ canvases, and will be creating more paintings very soon.

So much for rejection!

