Well, after MANY rough sketches, I’m finally creating some legible work for the Hippopotamus book. In fact, I did my first color test run today! We are shooting for an ethnically ambiguous look so more kids can see themselves in the main character, Emmalyn.  What do you think?

karenwindness-wordpress-colorsample

This illustration technique involves hand drawn line work (I trace over my final sketch with a sharpie on tracing paper), Adobe Illustrator live trace (smooths out line work) and Photoshop brushes (I created a new water color looking one by combining a couple existing PS6 brushes with some textures I made a while back). I like the look and hope my clients do, too!

I’ll post updates periodically, but you’ll have to wait for the published book to see all the fun stuff in this book. (Due to release in August 2013.)