If you own a Mac, you can stop reading now. Your screen automatically calibrates. It’s one of the perks of owning a very expensive computer made by people who care about what things look like. If you’re on a PC like me, read on.

So, I’m developing a portfolio for art licensing and I kept on getting feedback that the colors weren’t working. On further investigation, I heard things like “that yellow is too mustardy.” Mustardy? That hedgehog is 100% lime green on my screen. And furthermore, my print-outs look like exactly the same as my on-screen images. This is a problem.

So I invested in this little gadget:

It’s a Spyder 4 Pro Monitor Calibration system. Most of the reviews were from photographers who use this equipment to ensure that what they see on screen is what they receive in print. Well, I do art for print, so sign me up!

I got the package today and ran the program. It took about 15 minutes, and the results were pretty surprising. My screen looks much warmer now… meaning that all the images I had been sending out prior to calibrating were WAY warmer than I had intended.

Here’s an example below. The image on the left is what I had created before calibration. The image on the right is corrected to match what I was actually going for.

Different, huh? So, if you’re on a PC and you make art, you may want to get some screen calibration equipment because you might be sending out stuff that isn’t anything like you had intended. Now if I get rejected, at least it’s my own fault not, some strange color issue my computer was helping me make.