This painting commission went home with its owner this morning! It’s 20″x24″, acrylic and paper collage on canvas.

The image is based on a logo I created for the same client a couple years ago (see logo below and to the right). For the painting, she asked me to change the animals so they would look like her own pets. The trick for me was to make them look like her actual pets, but still fit stylistically. I’m pretty happy with the results. I think she was, too.

The original logo was going to be used for a medical marijuana dispensary with a target clientele of woman. My client and her partner were looking for an image with a classy quality, but also something that conveyed the feeling of serenity and comfort. They wanted to separate themselves from the head shop/seediness often associated with this sort of business. Medical marijuana has been very effective in treating the pain and discomfort associated with chemotherapy, as well as treating other serious ailments without the side effects or addictive qualities of narcotics.

Unfortunately, there is still a lot of fear and misunderstanding regarding medical marijuana. My clients were unable to open their dispensary due to last minute/retroactive changes in Colorado law. So the logo went unused, but now the image has a new life as a painting!

